My Story (Assignment 1 Exercise two)

Introduction to Story: My Story

                              1) My life

DSC00354

                                2) My family

DSC_0630

                                  3) Muslim Culture

DSC00346

                                  4) Cochlear Implant/ Deaf Culture

DSC00341

                                      5) Pray everyday

DSC00378

My name is Saynab Muse and I am 20 years old. I was born in Somalia and  moved to New Zealand in 1998. I was born Deaf. I got meningitis when I was three years old because I got sick. I have two brothers and four sisters. My younger sister was also born deaf.  My little sister and I were  the only ones born deaf in my whole family.  In Somalia there’s no education opportunities for Deaf children in schools that’s why my family moved here and also there was war happening in Somalia which was not safe place for my family to stay.  Deaf Culture is a part of my life. I was involved with the deaf community when I was eight years old. Sign language is very important for Deaf community. I had cochlear implant when I was 3 half years old. The cochlear implant has helped me to hear and communicate properly with my family. I can hear people talking and the background sound effectively. There are Deaf communities everywhere in the world. Deaf people in New Zealand have access to provide interpreters for mainstream schools,  universities and more. Sign language is used with our  hands, facial expressions and body movement as well. Many people around  the world may view Deaf  people differently and not someone with a disability. We are humans and we just can’t hear that’s all. From the  old history in New Zealand, the teacher said Deaf people must use  oral language but as you may know other Deaf people lip read.  Not being allowed to use sign language and only using oral can be a difficult communication. In the past, when Deaf people would use sign language to communicate and the teacher saw you, they would slap their hands.  In Somalia  there’s not enough Deaf schools so I hope to help them in the  near future and also I want to encourage more education at Deaf schools in Somalia. My family always pray every day because it is part of our Muslim culture.

Leave a Reply

